Programs & Groups : Scout Groups

Register your Scout group now for our popular overnights, or come for a campfire, badge workshop, or other special program.  Upcoming programs are listed below. (For a complete listing of all Scout programs and a program registration form for this year, click on the link below or call 303-693-3621 for a current brochure.)

Registration for Scout programs is by mail only, on a space-available basis and MUST BE RECEIVED AT LEAST ONE WEEK IN ADVANCE of the scheduled program.

Select this link for printable registration form.

Reservations required for all Scout programs- see above

2012 Programs


William Raines

yurt

Badge Workshops -
Choose one of these badges to work on:
Webelos Naturalist pin, Junior Wildlife or Earth
Connections, Brownie Eco-Explorer or Watching Wildlife, Cub Scout Conservation Award.
(Badges not included.)

$5 / person; one leader free per troop

Jan. - May - every 3rd Saturday @ 1pm
Saturday, Jan 21, 1 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday, Feb 18, 1 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday, Mar 17, 1 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday, April 21, 1 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday, May 19, 1 pm - 2:30 pm


June - morning following tipi overnight @ 9 am
Saturday, June 2, 9 am - 1:30 pm
Saturday, June 9, 9 am - 1:30 pm
Saturday, June 16, 9 am - 1:30 pm
Saturday, June 23, 9 am - 1:30 pm

Sept. - Nov. - every 3rd Saturday @ 1pm
Saturday, September 15, 1 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday, October 20, 1 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday, November 17, 1 pm - 2:30 pm

Tipi Overnights
Our most popular scout event! May–September we host overnights in the tipis (weather permitting). Evening program includes wagon ride, prairie animals program and a campfire with songs and stories. Morning program includes wagon ride and breakfast. PLEASE NOTE: Girl Scouts of Colorado requires that girl scouts attending a PCC overnight be accompanied by a Camp Trained Adult. This applies to all our overnights.
$30 / scout, one leader free per troop

Saturday, May 12, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Saturday, May 19, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Friday, June 1, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Friday, June 8, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Friday, June 15, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Friday, June 22, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Saturday, Sept. 8, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Saturday, Sept. 15, 7pm - 9:00 am

Yurt Overnights
Check out our yurt! Evening program includes wagon ride, prairie animals program, songs and stories. Morning program includes wagon ride or walk and breakfast. Campfire will occur weather permitting. 30 people maximum. PLEASE NOTE: Girl Scouts of Colorado requires that girl scouts attending a PCC overnight be accompanied by a Camp Trained Adult. This applies to all our over-nights.
$30 / scout, one leader free per troop

Saturday, Oct. 6, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Saturday, Oct. 13, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Saturday, Nov. 3, 7 pm - 9:00 am
Saturday, Nov. 10, 7 pm - 9:00 am


Wagon Ride & Campfire
Bring your binoculars (or sharp eyes) to search out pronghorn, coyotes, prairie dogs and hawks. Roast marshmallows over a campfire.
$5 / person, one leader free per troop

Friday, May 25, 7 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday , Aug. 17, 7 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday, Aug. 24, 7 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday, Sept. 7, 7 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday, Sept. 14, 7 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday, Sept. 21, 7 pm - 8:30 pm

Soddies by Lamplight
Experience the sod homestead at night. Light your way with old fashioned lanterns, churn butter, enjoy cider, and learn what pioneers did to occupy their long winter nights.
$6 / person, one leader free per troop

Friday, November 2, 7 pm - 9 pm
Friday, November 9, 7 pm - 9 pm
Friday, December 7, 7 pm - 9 pm

Please note:
Wagon rides are offered weather and road conditions permitting. Another program may be substituted if conditions warrant.

Here are some rules and considerations for overnight tipi programs.

  1. Troops should arrive at the PCC by 6:45 pm for check in and unloading of cars.
  2. Make sure scouts have a jacket and water bottle accessible for the evening program. NO SANDALS should be worn at all.
  3. Your group will enjoy a wagon ride on the prairie, a prairie animal program, and a campfire with s'mores. Our staff will take care of all the program details.
  4. After the campfire (9:30 pm) you will take your troop to your tipi (each troop will have its own tipi) and be in charge of your scouts thru the night. One staff person will be on site thru the night, but not for supervising scouts. The bathrooms are about 150 yards from the tipis.
  5. If anyone in your group has to leave the PCC or arrive late, please notify Sara of this situation so the gate can be opened.
  6. We encourage a 10pm "whisper time" so that the other troops at the overnight are not disturbed. Please enforce this.
  7. At 7 am we will serve breakfast and/or take you out on the wagon. Breakfast will be muffins, hot chocolate & coffee, instant oatmeal, and fruit. Your scouts should bring a disposable or reusable bowl, cup and spoon as listed on the packing list.
  8. Your overnight program concludes at 9 am. Please have carpool drivers at the PCC on time.


Fran Blanchardr

 

 

 


Dave Showalter

Visitors Welcome

We welcome drop-in visitors Monday – Saturday year-round. Monday - Saturday hours are 8 am - 4 pm, no admission fee.  Reserved programs will be offered year-round, please see “Calendar of Events & Activities” for upcoming programs.   

 

 


Sign up to receive our newsletter!
Enter your e-mail address below to receive our e-mail newsletter. You'll find out first what's happening at the Plains Conservation Center.
E-mail Address:
 
 

Check these links for some great tips for a more sustainable lifestyle:
FREE Home Irrigation System Audits, Slow the Flow Colorado:
http://www.conservationcenter.org/w_SlowtheFlowColorado.htm

Home Energy Checklist for Action
http://www.aceee.org/consumerguide/chklst.htm

Ten Big Things You Can Do for the Environment
http://www.ilea.org/topten.html#_Tip4

Wisconsin Foodshed Research Project
http://www.cias.wisc.edu/foodshed/index.html

Earth Friendly Cleaners
http://www.ecocycle.org/hazwaste/recipes.cfm

Recycling, conservation and more
http://www.ecocycle.org/index.cfm

Take Action At Work
http://www.epa.gov/epahome/atwork.htm

Seafood Watch--Monterey Bay Aquarium
http://www.mbayaq.org/cr/SeafoodWatch/web/sfw_factsheet.htmlx

SCFD Icon

Web Site Development and Hosting by Blue Ray Media, Inc.